Lumberg Connect

The Lumberg Group, headquartered in Schalksmühle, Germany, ranks among the leading providers of connector and interconnect systems. Core areas of expertise include R&D, manufacturing and the worldwide sales of electromechanical and mechatronic components. For 85 years now, the Group’s skills have broadened from manufacturing connectors and challenging micro-contact elements, to developing complex mechatronic assemblies, to customer-specific engineering and technical design services for all industries. In-depth application expertise led to strong partnerships in the automotive, home appliance, building technology, communications and consumer electronic industries. Family-run in the third generation, the company has a global workforce of around 1,300. Subsidiaries in Europe, America and Asia form a dense sales network. In 20175, the Group’s turnover totaled some Euro 136,67m. Over 20,000 catalog and customized products are proof of the company’s efficiency.

Evolution meets Revolution: Reversible Arbitrary Direct Mating with the PCB in IDT

Evolution meets revolution: While the direct connector mating on the edge of a printed circuit board is one of our focal domains, we are now introducing a new category of connectors that eclipses them all: The direct connector for arbitrary mating on the printed circuit board. With a multiple plug-in and plug-out option, soldering is no longer required. And it comes of course with Insulation Displacement Technology.

SKEDD makes this possible. The individual contact comprises two symmetrical contact tongues which, when inserted into a plated-through hole in the PCB, retract. The contact pressure forces from the two tongues then create a steadfast mechanicalelectrical connection inside the hole – no need for soldering.

Connectors can mate and lock without having to use tools, for total convenience when mounting entire sub-assemblies. This empowers completely new designs since the connectors can mate right in the center of a printed circuit board. Or even on the reverse.

Here, reversible mating also facilitates for the first time the simple exchange of components, as is required, for example, during servicing.

In combination with Insulation Displacement Technology, which draws on all advantages offered by automated cable assembly and vouches for the efficient production of large quantities, our unparalleled solution that literally centers

your ideas on the PCB is really smart – or simply: SmartSKEDD.

More information

Contact:

Lumberg Connect GmbH
Im Gewerbepark 2
58579 Schalksmühle
Germany
www.lumberg.com
www.facebook.com/lumberg.homebase

Your contact person for SmartIDT-SKEDD:

Christian Forner
Head of Global Sales
Tel. +49 2355 83-158
Fax +49 2355 83-47158
E-Mail: forner.christian@lumberg.com

Lumberg Connect

Die Lumberg-Gruppe mit Stammsitz im sauerländischen Schalksmühle zählt zu den führenden Anbietern von Steckverbinder- und Kontaktsystemen. Die Kompetenz der Gruppe besteht insbesondere in der eigenen Entwicklung, Produktion und im weltweiten Vertrieb von elektromechanischen Bauelementen und mechatronischen Komponenten. In 85Jahren erweiterte sich die Bandbreite der Fähigkeiten der Gruppe vom Hersteller von Steckern über anspruchsvolle Mikrokontaktelemente, komplexe Baugruppenentwicklungen hin zum Entwicklungsdienstleister komplexer Systeme für die Industrie. Schwerpunkte der anerkannten Verbindungslösungen und kundenspezifischer Produkte bilden Partnerschaften in der Automobil-, Hausgeräte-, Gebäudetechnik-, Kommunikations- und Unterhaltungselektronikindustrie. Das in dritter Generation inhabergeführte Unternehmen beschäftigt rund 1.300 Mitarbeiter weltweit. Tochtergesellschaften in Europa, Amerika und Asien bilden ein engmaschiges Vertriebsnetzwerk. Der Umsatz der Gruppe betrug gut 136,6 Millionen Euro in 2017. Über 20.000 Katalog- sowie kundenspezifische Artikel sprechen für die Leistungsfähigkeit des Unternehmens.

Evolution trifft Revolution: Reversibles Direktstecken mit SmartSKEDD an jeder Position auf der Leiterplatte in IDT

Evolution trifft auf Revolution: Ist der Direktsteckverbinder auf dem Rand einer Leiterplatte eine unserer Domänen – so führen wir nun konsequent eine neue Gattung von Steckverbindern als „Kür“ ein: Den Direktstecker für jede beliebige Position auf der Leiterplatte. Ohne diesen löten zu müssen. Und sogar mehrfach steck- und ziehbar. Selbstverständlich in Schneidklemmtechnik.

Möglich wird dies durch SKEDD. Der einzelne Kontakt besteht aus zwei federnden symmetrischen Kontaktschenkeln, die beim Einstecken in eine metallisierte Hülse in der Leiterplatte zusam menfahren. Die Kontaktandruckkräfte der beiden Schenkel stellen dann innen eine zuverlässige mechanisch-elektrische Verbindung zur Hülse her – lötfrei.

Die Steckverbinder sind werkzeuglos steck- und verriegelbar, erleichtern die Montage kompletterBaugruppen und ermöglichen vollkommen neue Designs, da sie überall, z.B. auch in der Mitte einer Leiterplatte, eingesetzt werden können. Oder auch auf der Rückseite.

Reversibles Stecken macht hier zudem erstmalig den einfachen Austausch von Komponenten möglich, etwa im Servicefall. In Verbindung mit der Schneidklemmtechnik, die alle Vorteile einer automatisierten Kabelkonfektionierung und somit effizient auch hohe Stückzahlen ermöglicht, wird unsere einmalige Kombination für Ihre Idee überall auf der Leiterplatte erst so richtig „nett“– kurz: zu SmartSKEDD.

Mehr Informationen

Kontakt:

Lumberg Connect GmbH
Im Gewerbepark 2
D - 58579 Schalksmühle
www.lumberg.com
www.facebook.com/lumberg.homebase

Ihr Ansprechpartner für SmartIDT-SKEDD:

Christian Forner
Head of Global Sales
Tel. +49 2355 83-158
Fax +49 2355 83-47158
E-Mail: forner.christian@lumberg.com