Würth Elektronik ICS

Würth Elektronik ICS develops and manufactures printed circuit board based system solutions for signal and power distribution, electronic controls, display and control panels. From simple components up to complete system solutions, customers from industrial and automotive sector, construction vehicles, agricultural machinery, commercial and special vehicles can rely on a wide product range.

Inventor of SKEDD technology

Würth Elektronik ICS has extensive expertise, based on over 30 years of experience in the development of connecting solutions for the circuit board. This has created a large portfolio of power supply elements and various solutions for connecting components and circuit boards.

Driven by its customers’ requirements for compact, light and cost-effective solutions, Würth Elektronik ICS has challenged the old established "PCB-socket base-connector" system and realized: there is an easier way! This has led to the new direct plug-in technology: SKEDD

Application areas and qualification

Würth Elektronik ICS mainly deploys SKEDD in customer-specific solutions for industrial and automotive customers. Furthermore, the company offers a portfolio of selected standard plug connectors in SKEDD technology, such as the SKW plug connectors (wire-to-board connections) or SKV plug connectors (board-to-board connections). The products and solutions in SKEDD technology are qualified, among others, for automotive and white goods requirements. Besides in-house laboratory tests, independent accredited test and laboratory services companies, such as SGS Germany GmbH or the IZM Fraunhofer Institute are commissioned.

Special features / Customer benefit

In developing SKEDD technology, the reliability of the plug connection is of primary importance to Würth Elektronik ICS. For this reason, the company developed a plastic housing that allows stable mechanical locking of the connector with the circuit board. The advancing plastic pins in the plug connector housing, in interaction with the corresponding holes in the PCB, ensure safe positioning and plugging of the contacts. In addition to the polarization, the latter also offer the coding possibly required for correct plug positioning.

Function conditions and plugging process

In four steps to success:

  • The connector hood is moved from the final locking position into the pre-locking position.
  • The connector is pre-positioned on the PCB by means of the plastic pins.
  • The contacts are inserted into the metallized holes.
  • By pushing down of the connector hood, the connector is securely and reliably locked by means of spreading/ riveting connection.

In the non-inserted state, the hood ensures that the contacts are protected against mechanical damage.

Do you have any questions or are you interested in products in SKEDD technology?

Then please contact us at:

Würth Elektronik ICS GmbH & Co. KG
Intelligent Power & Control Systems
Würthstraße 1
74676 Niedernhall
Germany

Tel. +49 7940 9810-0
Fax +49 7940 9810-1099
skedd@we-online.de
www.we-online.com

Würth Elektronik ICS

Würth Elektronik ICS entwickelt und produziert leiterplattenbasierte Systemlösungen zur Signal- und Leistungsverteilung, elektronische Steuerungen sowie Anzeige- und Bedienfelder. Vom einfachen Bauteil bis zur kompletten Systemlösung steht den Kunden aus den Bereichen Industrie, Automotive, Baumaschinen, Nutz-, Agrar- und Sonderfahrzeuge eine breite Produktpalette zur Verfügung.

Erfinder der SKEDD-Technologie

Würth Elektronik ICS verfügt über ein umfassendes Know-how, basierend auf über 30 Jahren Erfahrung in der Entwicklung von Verbindungslösungen für die Leiterplatte. Dabei ist ein großes Portfolio an Stromversorgungselementen und verschieden Lösungen für die Anbindung der Komponenten und Leiterplatten entstanden.

Getrieben durch die Anforderungen seiner Kunden nach kompakten, leichten und wirtschaftlichen Lösungen hat Würth Elektronik ICS das altbewährte System "Leiterplatte-Sockel-Stecker" in Frage gestellt und festgestellt: es geht auch einfacher! Daraus entstand die neue Direktstecktechnologie: SKEDD

Einsatzgebiete und Qualifizierung

Würth Elektronik ICS setzt SKEDD überwiegend bei kundenspezifischen Lösungen für industrielle und Automotive-Kunden ein. Darüber hinaus bietet das Unternehmen ein Portfolio an ausgewählten Standard-Steckverbindern in SKEDD-Technologie, wie z.B. SKW-Steckverbinder (Wire-to-Board Verbindungen) oder SKV-Steckverbinder (Board-to-Board Verbindungen), an. Die Produkte und Lösungen in SKEDD-Technologie sind u.a. nach Anforderungen aus den Bereichen Automotive und Weiße Ware qualifiziert. Neben den Untersuchungen im eigenen Labor werden auch unabhängige, akkreditierte Prüflabore wie SGS Germany GmbH oder IZM Fraunhofer Institut beauftragt.

Besondere Merkmale/ Kundenutzen

Bei der Entwicklung von Steckverbindern in SKEDD-Technologie ist Würth Elektronik ICS vor allem die Zuverlässigkeit wichtig. Aus diesem Grund hat das Unternehmen ein Kunststoffgehäuse entwickelt, das eine sichere mechanische Verrastung des Steckers mit der Leiterplatte ermöglicht. Für die sichere Positionierung und Steckung der Kontakte sorgen vorauseilende Kunststoffstifte im Steckverbindergehäuse, die mit korrespondierenden Bohrungen in der Leiterplatte zusammenwirken. Letztere bilden neben der Polarisierung auch die gegebenenfalls erforderliche Kodierung ab.

Funktionszustände und Steckvorgang

In vier Schritten zum Erfolg:

  • Die Schutzhaube des Steckverbinders wird aus der Endraststellung in die Vorraststellung gebracht.
  • Der Stecker wird mittels der vorauseilenden Kunsstoffstifte auf der Leiterplatte vorpositioniert.
  • Die Kontakte werden in die Durchkontaktierungen eingeführt.
  • Durch das Nach-Unten-Schieben der Steckerhaube wird die sichere und zuverlässige Verrastung des Steckverbinders mittels Spreiz-Niet-Verbindung realisiert.

Im nicht gesteckten Zustand sorgt die Haube dafür, dass die Kontakte vor mechanischer Beschädigung geschützt sind.

Haben Sie Fragen oder Interesse an Produkten in SKEDD-Technologie?

Dann kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter:

Würth Elektronik ICS GmbH & Co. KG
Intelligent Power & Control Systems
Würthstraße 1
74676 Niedernhall

Tel. +49 7940 9810-0
Fax +49 7940 9810-1099
skedd@we-online.de
www.we-online.de